RB Conversation

Today, during my day job, I spoke with someone at our website vendor (for the purpose of this blog we’ll call him RB). It was so inspiring to speak with him today. Of all the people I have actually met, he has one of the most interesting career paths. It includes working at a large commercial photography house and performing eye surgeries and working on prototypes for optical surgery. But this post is not about careers. It’s about geekiness.

Our conversation invigorated my desire to really get in touch with my industry. I wax and wane when it comes to how much motivation I have to keep up with such intangible schools of thought as the web technology, best practices, ehealthcare trends, analytics, ROI, etc. It is so easy to get all wrapped up in what we should be doing and why we are not doing it and how to get stakeholder by in. Then, I go home and see my daughter and wonder why I cared so much about anything but her and my husband. I am also reading Eat, Pray, LoveEat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I am in the section that is Italy. She is exploring the art of pleasure. She is explaining how italians value pleasure and happiness above all other aspects of their lives … above work, above ambition, above keeping up with the joneses. I wish for that mentality. But again, that is another post. This post is about the things I am about to do to help me be better at my job. Hopefully …

I am going to keep up with industry blogs. I am going to read books that RB suggested I read. I am going to go the conference that is best for where I am in the process of my job, not the one that appeals to be most. I am not going to be in the same job 5 years from now.

Leave a Reply

